Tulsa Preservation Commission Members

The Tulsa Preservation Commission is an eleven-member board of the City of Tulsa.  Its membership is designed to reflect a broad variety of professional interests and specialties, such as architecture, real estate, and history, and to balance those interests with the needs of Tulsa’s historic neighborhoods and landmarks.

Nine members are appointed by the Mayor and approved by the City Council, and two members are appointed by the Arts Commission of the City of Tulsa and the Tulsa Metropolitan Area Planning Commission.  Commissioners serve staggered three-year terms and attend two meetings each month, in addition to training and committee assignments.

If you are interested in serving on the Tulsa Preservation Commission, please contact the staff of the Tulsa Preservation Commission ((918) 579-9448, jporter@incog.org) or the Mayor’s Office ((918) 596-2100, boards@cityoftulsa.org).  You must be a resident of the City of Tulsa and meet the requirements for appointments.  A demonstrated interest in preservation of Tulsa’s historic resources for the benefit of the greater community is required as well.

Current Members of the Tulsa Preservation Commission

David W. Schoell, P.E., Chairman Historic Property Owner
Peter Grant, CGR, CAPS Vice-Chairman Builder
Joy Jones Licensed Real Estate Broker
James E. Turner, AIA Licensed Architect
Robert L. Shears, ASLA Licensed Landscape Architect
Mary Lee Townsend, Ph.D. Architectural Historian/Historian
Chris J. Bumgarner Historic Property Owner
Susan J. McKee, MFA Historic Property Owner
Katelyn C. Parker, RA Historic Property Owner
Ted A. Reeds, II, AIA TMAPC
Holly Becker Arts Commission

Historic Preservation Permit Subcommittee Neighborhood Representatives

The Tulsa Preservation Commission has a special committee to provide preliminary review of applications for new construction, additions, and complex projects.  Each officially recognized homeowners’ association within the Historic Preservation Zoning Overlay Districts may nominate a volunteer to serve on this committee.  These volunteers are not commissioners but serve as liaisons for their respective neighborhoods.  The Tulsa Preservation Commission is currently enjoying the participation of these Neighborhood Representatives:

Chip Atkins Swan Lake
Sally Heard Davies North Maple Ridge
Vacant Gillette
Michael Park Yorktown
Vacant Brady Heights